Tag Archives: community matters

2014 Guest List

( * ) Indicates an additional show not scheduled for Saturday night.

Weekly Archive of the Guests of 2014


December 27th, 2014: FRIENDS & FAMILY at the OHEL Chanukah Party

December 20th, 2014: Eric S. Goldstein, CEO, UJA Federation

December 13, 2014: Carolyn B. Maloney, Congresswoman for NYC’s 12th DistrictThe Settlement with SNCF” and (Guest 2) Eric L. Adams, Brooklyn Borough President discusses theThe Incident at 770.”

December 6, 2014: Dov Hikind, New York State Assemblyman for District 48 (Brooklyn).

November 29, 2014: Guest Host Chaskel Bennett interviews Ezra Friedlander, CEO of The Friedlander Group

November 22nd, 2014: Malcolm Hoenlein, the Executive Vice Chairman of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

November 15, 2014: Exclusive coverage of Agudath Israel of America Convention. * Leon is a Board Member at this renowned organization.

November 8, 2014: NY Assemblyman Dov Hikind, NYS Senator Martin Golden and Chaskel Bennett.

November 1, 2014: Dov Hikind, New York State Assemblyman for District 48 (Brooklyn).

October 18th, 2014: Kathleen Rice, District Attorney of Nassau County and Congressional Candidate

October 11th, 2014: Aron Weider, Majority Leader of the Rockland County Legislature

October 4th, 2014: John Cahill, Candidate for New York Attorney General

September 27, 2014: Hakeem Jeffries, Congressman for New York’s 8th District; Simcha Felder, New York State Senate – 17th District; Melissa Mark – Viverito, Speaker of the New York City Council; Mark Levine, New York City Council Member – 7th District; Brad Lander, New York City Council Member – 39th District; Chaim Deutsch, New York City Council Member – 48th District; Scott Stringer,New York City Comptroller; September 6th, 2014: Kathy Hochul, Candidate for Lt. Governor of New York and former Congresswoman.

September 20, 2014: Sheldon Silver, Speaker of the New York State Assembly

September 13, 2014: Rabbi Pikus, Executive Director of COJO of Flatbush; Moshe Zakheim, President of COJO of Flatbush; Larry Spiewak, Chairman of COJO of Flatbush

September 6, 2014: Kathy Hochul, Former Congresswoman and candidate for Lt. Governor

August 30, 2014: Steven Cymbrowitz, NY State Assemblyman


August 23, 2014: Guest Hosted by Chaskel Bennett


August 16, 2014: Hakeem Jeffries, 8th District – New York


August 9, 2014: James Woosley, Ambassador and former Director of Central Intelligence, chairs the board of the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, and is a Venture Partner with Lux Capital Management.


August 2, 2014: Shahar Azani, Spokesperson and Consol for Media Affairs for the Consolate General of Israel in New York


July 26, 2014: Colonel Richard Kemp and 7 members of Congress. These members include: Luke Messer (6th District – Indiana), Dr. Bill Cassidy (6th District – Louisiana), Tom Reed (23rd District – New York), Chris Gibson (19th District – New York), Hakeem Jeffries (8th District – New York), Yvette Clarke (9th District – New York) and Doug Lamborn (5th District – Colorado).

July 19, 2014: Malcolm Hoenlein, and Leon speak on the topic of the Solidarity Mission.

* July 15, 2014: Rafael Medoff, American historian, the founding director of The David Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies.

July 12th, 2014: Gil Lainer, Consul for Public Diplomacy at the Consulate General of Israel in New York, gives an official update on the War in Israel – Operation Protective Edge.

* July 9, 2014: Chaskel Bennett, Agudath Israel Trustee, on attending the ceremony for the awarding of Congressional Gold Medal Award to Raoul Wallenberg , where Leon served on the committee. See photos by Clicking HERE.

July 5, 2014: Guests included: Gregory Meeks, Congressman of New York’s 5th District; Peter Rebenwurzel, Chairman of the Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Celebration Commission; and Ezra Friedlander, CEO of the Friedlander Group

June 28, 2014: Guests included: Helene Weinstein, the Assembly Woman for District 41 and Leah Steinberg, Director of Special Ed. at Agudath Israel. Topic: Special Education.

June 21, 2014: Charles Rangel, U.S. Representative (D-NY 13th District)

June 7th, 2014: Guest: Rob Astorino, Republican Candidate for New York State Governor.

May 31, 2014: Segment 1: Scott Stringer, New York City Comptroller. Segment 2: Rabbi Chaim Dovid Zwiebel, President of Agudath Israel of America

May 24, 2014: Special Guest

May 17, 2014: Chaim M. Deutsch, Council Member – 48th District, and Rabbi Chaim Dovid Zwiebel, President of Agudath Israel of America

May 10, 2014: David Pollack

May 3rd, 2014: Guest: Malcolm Hoenlein, Executive Vice Chairman & CEO of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

April 26th, 2014: Guest: Tom DiNapoli, NYS Comptroller

April 19, 2014: NO SHOW because of Passover Holiday

April 12th, 2014: Guest: Ari Wieder, Majority Leader of the Rockland County Legislature

April 5, 2014: James Cultrara, Director for Education, New York State Catholic Conference

March 29, 2014: Mark Levine, NYC, District 7 – Council Member

March 22, 2014: Special Guests

March 15, 2014: Moshe Zakheim – COJO President, Larry SpiewakCOJO Chairman of the Board and David HeskielChaplin for the Police Department.

March 8, 2014: Michael Simanowitz (D-NY) – New York State Assembly member

March 1, 2014: Surprise, Special Guest

February 22, 2014: Dean Skelos, Temporary President and Majority Coalition Leader, (R, C, IP) 9th NY Senate District

February 15, 2014: Martin Golden, Assistant NY Senate Majority Whip, (R, C) 22nd Senate District

February 8, 2014: Rabbi Marvin Hier, Dean and Founder of the Simon Wiesenthal Center, its Museum of Tolerance and of Moriah, the Center’s film division.

February 1, 2014: Michael Miller, NY State Assembly member – District 38

January 25, 2014: Malcolm Hoenlein, the Executive Vice Chairman of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

January 18, 2014: Frank Sedita, III District Attorney

January 11, 2014: NYC Mayor Bill DeBlasio & Chaskel Bennett

January 4, 2014: Congressman Hakeem Jeffries (NY- 8th District)